santagugl.blogg.se

Adium icq error
Adium icq error




adium icq error
  1. #Adium icq error how to#
  2. #Adium icq error Pc#

Well, sadly there's the fact that Discord has finally pulled out the official laser beams for the alternative client scene, such that Cordless recently called it quits:

adium icq error

I honestly felt my messaging was way more advanced 15 years ago. I now have a dozen different closed-protocol, walled-garden messaging apps, some of them even actively try to PUNISH you for trying to decompile and edit them, translation is not automatic, cloud logs only exist on Facebook messenger, E2E encryption is skeptically touted and paraded as some new thing even though I personally had real open-source E2E encryption 15 years ago on ALL my messengers, and everyone is siloed into their own apps and there is no way to send messages across networks. * Online gateway that allowed me to access all my message logs from anywhere on any device and any OS with a web browser. * Cloud-based logs of all of my messages. * Controlling of IOT devices, and allowing access to my dorm room for guests by having them send me an instant message with a certain secret word. * Automatic rendering of in-line LaTeX math equations. * Ability to create conversation groups across networks, with my account serving as a gateway. (I can read both, but traditional is faster for me, so I had it auto-translate all simplified to traditional for me, as well as auto-translate all of my outgoing traditional to simplified on a per-user basis for the receiver's convenience.) * Automatic two-way conversion between simplified and traditional Chinese. * Automatic two-way human language translation via online translation APIs so I could have a conversation with someone who didn't share a common language with me * End-to-end encryption (receiver needed the plugin as well) On that one messaging app I had either written or downloaded plugins for: A dark but entirely possible scenario is that it eventually becomes illegal to use general-purpose computers to connect to such services, because "security".ġ5 years ago I had ONE messaging app that logged me into MSN, ICQ, QQ, Zephyr, Gtalk, Yahoo, AIM, Facebook, and Renren. Once the mainstream usage - like your e-mail or your bank - gets neatly packaged in sandboxed, trust-computing-enabled environments, the utility of your general-purpose platform will plummet. On top of that, computers today gain most of their value interacting with other computers. Which means at some point the capital-wielding companies will just leave the market, and the prices of new general-purpose computers will go way, way up. The market for people requiring general-purpose computation is small and getting smaller, while the market for constrained computing is only ever bigger. But economies of scale are capital-intensive, so they exist only where there's a market for it. The problem GP refers to is this: making computers is expensive, gets cheaper with economies of scale. That was on the rising edge of the wave of "computers are awesome and will change everyone's life". I can't just go looking to take a class, either: not all schools have shops! Shops with tools are not plentiful and readily accessible to average people, the engines can't be examined from the inside out, coils and springs are dangerous physically.

adium icq error

This distinction is massive, and yet we still use analogies to cars.

#Adium icq error how to#

In contrast, learning how an engine works requires mass-based tools that are big and expensive and require careful knowledge of how to not harm yourself when disassembling or working on the engine.

adium icq error

Anyone can learn - even using a web browser and notepad to write JS.

#Adium icq error Pc#

To be frank, I think this distinction is precisely why I get frustrated at computing incompetence: a PC at home isn't locked down and has access to these tools. Granted: we as CS folks and business folks are choking off our own sources of talent by hiding the tools and keys needed to truly examine our systems, all in the name of "user-friendlines", but its still possible to use what is exposed to learn computing basics like how wifi works, or what a proxy server are. In essence, a steam engine is just a power supply.Ī general purpose computer, on the other hand, includes a power supply, and generally doesnt need tools that change matter to retarget it for another application the tools needed to do so are made of information, and are thus readily available. A steam engine requires tools made of matter to make it provide mechanical power to another system. The difference is scarcity and readily available tools to retarget the steam engine for a different workload.






Adium icq error